Pizza Fusion in Hillcrest

Lunch is not an area of my expertise.  Mostly because I usually sit right here in front of my computer with a lunch I either bought in the prepackaged form (Fresh & Easy meals are a favorite) or in the rare case that I attempting cooking (God-forbid), I am eating leftovers.  Currently, I am guilty of the first.  But, on the off-chance that I go out for lunch, say on the weekend, I have a few favorites.

Last month, my friend Stephen from Indiana came to San Diego for a wedding and we got to hang out for a day.  He wanted to check out Hillcrest and I was more than happy to show him around, especially since Hillcrest is a favorite area of mine and one I still have not explored enough of.  Stephen’s tastes are much more simple than mine—where I would love to get some tasty Thai food or try any new kind of ethnic cuisine, Stephen would rather go for a hamburger, and no not the fancy kind like a bison burger with blue cheese—which, btw, is SOOOO delish!  So, instead we settled on pizza.

What we ended up finding was a really neat pizza joint called Pizza Fusion that was reasonably priced and had amazing pizza!  The best part is, I just found out that Pizza Fusion is actually a franchise, so there’s a chance that if you are reading this from somewhere else, you may be able to find a Pizza Fusion nearby!  I can’t rave enough about this place…  They had a great lunch special for $8.99 that includes a Personal Cheese Pizza, Side Salad and drink.  For just $2 extra, I upgraded to one of their signature pizzas.  There was a lot to choose from.

Menu

I almost ended up with the “Very Vegan,” which you can just barely see at the top, but my heart was ultimately won by the “Four Cheese & Sundried Tomato.”  I’m a sucker for goat cheese.  I also ordered a delicious side salad with balsamic vinaigrette.  It looked so good that I dived into it before remembering to take a picture… Whoops!

Side salad

As I looked over the menu, I noticed also noticed they have a nice selection of gluten-free and vegan menu items, ranging from vegan pizza, vegan cheese and vegan brownies, to gluten-free crust and gluten-free brownies.  I think it’s wonderful that they are able to accommodate different dietary lifestyles and needs.  Also, all of their veggies are organic and they are committed to helping support the sustainable living movement.  When I went to use their ladies’ room, I was presently surprised to find the cutest bamboo sink!  Unfortunately, I didn’t get a picture of it, but I did see the same type of bamboo sink available for sale at Fixtures Living in Miramar (San Diego, CA).

But most important of all, their pizza was ah-may-zing!

Pizza

I always let the pictures speak for themselves!  To-die-for.  Surprising, too, since I am not usually one for thin crust pizza.  I know everyone says NYC has the best pizza and I can’t say I’ve ever had NYC pizza, but I can definitely say I’ve found at least two great pizza joints in SD. 🙂

Honest Tea

Did I forget to mention my meal came with a delicious Honest Tea?  I have to say, I love these guys.  I’ve seen them at many events here in San Diego and their teas are so refreshing.

Overall, I give Pizza Fusion a five star rating and a gigantic gold star for one of the best lunch spots in San Diego!  Reasonable prices, large selection, lots of variety, tasty food and great environmental practices—what else could one ask for?!  If you’ve got a Pizza Fusion in your area, I highly recommend checking it out.  Next time I’m trying the gluten-free crust!

Leave a Reply

