Stone Brewery

I recently planned an outing with my friends to Stone Brewery, located in Carlsbad, California.  Stone Brewery is known best for their Arrogant Bastard Ale, a beer I first tried back when I turned 21 and was just developing my palette for craft beers.  Little did I know that 5 years later I’d be living half an hour away from Stone Brewery, where this delicious brew was born.

I’ve only lived here in San Diego for nearly 6 months now, and I’ve only been planning a trip to Stone Brewery since before I set foot outside of Indiana.  The point of the outing was to introduce all of the new friends I have made in San Diego to one another and to check out a fun, new spot that most had not been to before.  The event was a success and everyone ended up having a great time!  I’m so lucky to have met some really amazing people here.

Christina, me, and Jasmine

Being a huge fan of beer myself, I thought that Stone would be the perfect place to unwind on a Sunday afternoon just before the work week was set to begin.  While not all of my friends are beer drinkers, I knew they would at least appreciate the atmosphere and the great food that microbreweries are so well known for.

Also, for anyone who isn’t a fan of beer, I recommend getting the cider!  They’ve got a couple different bottled ciders to choose from.

Cider

Me?  I love a good dark beer so I tried their Stone Smoked Porter and was not disappointed.

We waited about 2 hours for a table (yikes!) but it was well worth the wait.  The table was located in a secluded spot outdoors.

Outdoor seating at Stone

The food was absolutely delicious.  I ordered the beer mac ‘n cheese with broccoli.  Sooooooo good.   When it comes to food though, I think the pictures speak for themselves!

Hummus and crusty bread

Beer mac 'n cheese with broccoli

Dessert

Dessert! Brownie a la mode

Stone’s report card:

  • A for atmosphere.
  • A for food.
  • B- for dessert (it was ok but I’ve definitely had better).
  • A for beer and selection of drinks on tap and bottled.
  • C for wait time.  Should you visit anytime soon, I definitely advise calling ahead for seating if possible.

Cheers,

Jess

*Photos courtesy of Jasmine.

Tags: , , ,

5 Responses to “Stone Brewery”

  1. Brittany Faris Says:

    Jess! I love this idea! It really shows how creative you are. I think you were born to live in San Diego, you really seem to fit in! I miss you very much and I can’t wait to visit. You will have to show me around all the great places you have been. Much love,

    Brittany

    • bemerryevents Says:

      Thanks, lady! I am starting to learn my way around so I definitely have some cool spots to show you. I think you’d like Stone Brewery, it’s HUGE and a really pretty setting! My heart’s still back in Indiana with Upland tho’, I think their beer is still the best 😉

  2. Jasmine @ Eat Move Write Says:

    This was a SUPER fun event. It was one of the best nights Ryan and I have had for a while!

  3. Christina Bashian Says:

    This was a great event – I had so much fun! You always do such a great job planning events and our different outings.

Leave a Reply

